Our Team

RAE has assembled an award-winning team of engineers, scientists and business executives who have successfully developed and demonstrated breakthrough technology for growing and harvesting algae, as well as recovering an array of valuable algal products ranging from nutraceuticals and nutritionals to fuels. 

The most unique aspect of RAE’s team is its extensive and successful commercial experience. Members of RAE’s team have more than 420 years of combined industrial experience in all aspects of developing and commercializing chemical process technology. Together, RAE’s team members have taken more than 30 processes from concept to commercial production. Our technology team members are named inventors on more than 150 U.S. patents.

Dr. David Bryant, a member of RAE’s key scientific team, was the 1998 winner of the Perkin Medal, the Society of Chemical Industry’s annual award for “innovation in applied chemistry resulting in outstanding commercial development." The Perkin Medal is considered the highest honor bestowed by the U.S. industrial chemical industry. The medal originated in 1906, commemorating the 50th anniversary of the discovery of mauveine, the world's first synthetic aniline dye, by Sir William Henry Perkin, an English chemist.

Management Team


Jeffrey S. Kanel, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer


Victor R. Allen
Chief Financial Officer


Sheila L. Kanel
Administrative Services Manager



C. Calvert Churn III, Ph.D.
VP, Bioprocess Technology


Key Scientific Team


David R. Bryant, Ph.D.


Robert L. Clayton


Jason C. Egli


Stephen N. Falling, Ph.D.


Charles W. Harris


Vincent VanBrunt, Ph.D.

Key Operations Team

Johnny Cano, Linda Cano, Ralph Wong